What do you think?

Ok, here is something that has been on my mind lately and I would really like your opinion.

There is a lot going on in our country. It seems every day there is another “crisis” that we, as the body of Christ have to deal with. It seems our freedoms are being taken away and our rights as Christians are being attacked. Or at least that is the impression I get from all my conservative Christian friends. People, who call themselves evangelicals are complaining about how bad the government is and how horrible the present administration is and on and on.

Last Thursday was the national day of prayer in which tens of thousands of prayers went up for revival and for our country to return to God.

Yet, I don’t know a single Christian who believes a theocracy to be a good idea.

So, here is my question: Where do we draw the line between praying for God’s blessings on our country and becoming a theocracy?

Where do we draw the line between being a democracy (representative, constitutional democracy) and being a theocracy?

Where do we draw the line between being a “Christian nation” and becoming a theocracy?

When does talk about God and Jesus and Christianity and any other religion burden the public square and public discourse?

I am seriously wanting your opinions and am not trying to stir anything up. There are simply some questions I have asked myself lately.

What are your thoughts?

One thought on “What do you think?

  1. Hello RevKev, I can’t say that I understand the questions. I can’t say that becoming a theocracy needs to be defined by a line either by or for the government/community. The definitions given in Word Doc. is that it is a government by god and a community governed by god. Appropriate uses of little letter ‘g’ instead of my God with a capital letter. My life is a theocracy, only I’m governed by God, the Holy One. I also pray for revival but KNOW revival starts with the person praying. If it doesn’t start there it isn’t going very far. Who among us doesn’t need a personal revival instead of pointing a finger at everyone else? My apologies, Rev. I’m afraid I still don’t understand the questions. Hope you find what you’re looking for. πŸ™‚ Date: Wed, 8 May 2013 01:25:41 +0000 To: simplyfgist@live.com

Leave a Reply

