“Let ’em Eat Cake”

carrie-jpg_030550Excuse me while a rant just a little.

It is being reported Carrie Underwood wore a $31 million dollar necklace to the Grammy’s last night. (Here is the link to an article.) Now, please understand, I like Mrs. Underwood (Fisher). I think she is extremely talented. She has a right to wear whatever she wants to wear. She lives in my city and seems to be a genuinely nice person and all, but come on, a $31 million necklace!

I know, I know, more than likely she doesn’t own it and it was a loan to showcase it’s beauty and style to somebody somewhere.

I know, I know, Mrs. Underwood and her husband do a lot of good with their money and they are to be commended for it.

But come on, a $31 million necklace!

What does a person do with a $31 million necklace?

Here is what $31 million could do….

…put 1,000 students through a 4 year college.

…buy 2 weeks groceries for approximately 3 million families.

…fully support the International Missions of my denomination for more than 10 years.

…pour concrete floors in 150,000 homes in Honduras where people live on dirt floors.

I think you get the idea.

Again, I don’t blame Carrie Underwood. I just wonder what in the world is wrong with our country when stars wear millions of dollars in jewlry, while right outside the auditorium where they are telling each other how great they are, there are people suffering and hungry and homeless.

“Let ‘ Eat Cake!”

Leave a Reply

