Early Post-Election Thoughts

Here are a few of my take-aways from yesterday’s election:

  • The Republicans lost the election because they do not understand the changing demographic of today’s electorate. In other words, they are out of touch.
  • Mitt Romney was the weakest candidate the Republicans have ever nominated since, well, John McCain.
  • We desperately need a viable third-party.
  • The United States is more divided than ever.
  • It is time the Church divorced herself from partisan politics and became the Church.
  • Eschatology is not dependent on American politics.
  • Dick Morris should never be allowed to publically comment on anything ever again.
  • For the most part, the polls got it right.
  • I am embarrassed by many comments I read from fellow Christians.
  • If your hope was in who won the White House, your hope was misplaced.
  • “My hope is built on nothing less than Jesus’ blood and righteousness…On Christ the solid rock I stand; all other ground is sinking sand.”

I am sure there are others, but that is what comes to mind early this morning.

What did you learn from last night?

6 thoughts on “Early Post-Election Thoughts

  1. I appreciate your insights, and your last three points, especially, really resonate with me. Embarrassed by comments by fellow Christians, where our hope is, and the quote from “The Solid Rock.”

  2. Dead on, Kevin…So many folks are, “Woe is us”, today and have missed the point that God IS in control. I’m just glad the election is finally over!!

  3. I had to laugh at how many times I heard people compare the re-election of President Obama to the end of the world! Silly people. I, too, am saddened and embarrassed by the hateful rhetoric of Christians towards those who supported the President. And hope, placed in the right place, never disappoints!

Leave a Reply

