Election Day Prayer

Well, tomorrow is the big day! Election day 2012! I will be glad when it is over and I do hope it is over tomorrow evening. I pray that whoever wins wins by a solid enough number so there will be no disputes, cries of voter fraud, recounts, lawsuits and countersuits; and even though I think the electoral college is ingenious, I pray that whoever wins the popular vote also wins the electoral college vote. I pray for a conflict free election, regardless who wins. I ask you to join me in that prayer.

In addition, here are some other things I will be praying tomorrow:

  • I pray for President Obama and his family. The elections have to be tougher on them than himself. I pray throughout the day God will grant them peace and patience and strength. I pray whatever the outcome, their marriage would remain strong and they would continue to be the parents to their children they seem to be. To me, President Obama has always come across as a family guy who genuinely loves Michelle and the girls. President Obama claims to be a Christian. I accept him at his word, and so I pray he will press more into Christ and allow the Holy Spirit to transform him into the image of Jesus.
  • I pray for Governor Romney and his family. The elections have to be tougher on them than himself. I pray throughout the day God will grant them peace and patience and strength. I pray whatever the outcome, their marriage would remain strong and they would continue to be the parents to their children and grandchildren that they seem to be. The Romney’s seem to be a very close and caring family. I also pray the Holy Spirit would lead the Romney’s away from Mormonism and to the truth of who Jesus is. I pray that each and every member of his family would come to personal faith in Jesus Christ.
  • I pray for both vice-presidential candidates and their families. I pray they will grow in their faith and knowledge of Jesus Christ.
  • I pray for all the other men and women who are running for president and vice-president. I pray they will continue to follow their dreams and their passions, and if they do not know Christ, I pray they will come to know Him in a real and personal way.
  • I pray for all of our representatives who are running for election or who are presently serving. I pray that after the elections are over they can come together for the good of our country and work through the difficult issues we face. I pray they will change their paradigm from power to service, and from arrogance to humility.
  • I pray there will be no riots and violence after the results of the elections are known. I pray for peace in our streets and neighborhoods.
  • I pray for the Christian church. I pray for healing, and that all the divisions and name calling that have taken place through this election season will be resolved so that the body of Christ will be unified.
  • I pray all true followers of Jesus will no longer look to a president or a political party for their security, but to God.
  • I pray or God’s will to be done tomorrow.
  • I pray that regardless of what happens tomorrow, those of us who pray for God’s will to be done will accept the outcome as God’s will.
  • I pray for revival in our country, and I pray it will begin with me.
  • I pray for the widows and orphans and immigrants (legal and illegal) and poor in our country who often get left out and overlooked in our political system.
  • I pray for the homeless and drug addict and prostitutes and alcoholics and others who have been disenfranchised by our country, and to often by our churches.
  • I pray for all the felons who are not allowed to vote because of bad decisions they made years ago.
  • I pray our wars would quickly come to an end.
  • I pray for our servicemen and women.
  • I pray for peace in Iraq and Iran and Israel and for the Palestinians and for all the Middle East.

These are the things that are on my heart and the things I will be praying for tomorrow…and the next day…and the next.

What will your prayers be?

2 thoughts on “Election Day Prayer

  1. So much could be summed up in, “Your Kingdom come, your will be done on earth AS it is in heaven.” Thanks for giving some body to what our prayers can look like following this election!

  2. Those are things we should all be praying for, regardless of political affiliation, preference, or even what kind of persons the candidates are. We are exhorted to always pray for those in authority over us (Paul said that in a time when the world he knew was under Roman domination and Nero, possibly the worst of them all, was the emperor). Thanks for the reminder.

Leave a Reply

