Stop Worrying

I have had a lot on my mind lately. In reality I always have a lot on my mind. I am always thinking and pondering. My wife can testify that many times she looks across the room at me sitting in my lounger and knows I am a million miles away. I guess it is how I am wired. But lately it seems I have had more on my mind than usual. Nothing earth shattering. No major decisions. No health issues. No problems. In fact, quite the opposite.

I am a very blessed man. I have a wife and children who love me, a church that allows me to be myself, and lots of friends. I am one of the few individuals I know who is doing exactly what they want to do for a living. I have heard a lot of “experts” say if you can find a way to make a living doing what you are passionate about then you are a wealthy person. Well, I am wealthy beyond measure.

But I have still had a lot on my mind lately.

Today, as I was out riding my bike, God brought an old truth back to my mind. I felt the Spirit say to me, “Kevin, stop worrying about things you can’t control.”

I know that is nothing new. You have probably heard or read something similar at one time of another. I have given that advice to other people. But for whatever reason, I needed that reminder and I am thankful for a Father who knows what I need and desires to communicate with me in a personal way.

Stop worrying about things you can’t control.

A lot of people worry about our country and the presidential elections this Fall. Well, what can you do about it? What can you control? NOTHING! So stop worrying. This single thought today, that I believe came from God, has just about pushed me to the point of not even voting in November. Ultimately God is in control and I am a citizen of Heaven, regardless of who is president. I know that upsets some of you, but don’t worry about it. It’s not your responsibility and it is nothing you can control.

My kids are getting older. My daughter is 21 and my son is 17 and will graduate from high school in May. Like a lot of parents, I wander what their future will be like. But you know what, I really can’t control it, so there is no reason to worry. Both of them were given back to God as infants.

I have realized I will never have a lot of money. But you know what? I have always been able to pay my bills, save a little, and go on yearly vacations and mission trips. That’s more than most of the world can do. That’s more than most of the people in my church can do.

Speaking of my church, a lot of times that is exactly what is on my mind. What’s our next step? Why does it feel we are stuck? What does God want us to do next? Where will the resources come from? But you know what? It’s not my church which means I am not the one in control so why worry about it?

I really don’t know if you or anyone else needed to read this. I do know I needed to write it. If, by chance, you did need this, remember…

Stop worrying about things you can’t control.

2 thoughts on “Stop Worrying

Leave a Reply

