The Fifth Day of Creation

Those of you who know me know that my main hobby is scuba diving. I have been diving for 20 years and now have 304 documented dives. My certification is a divemaster with PADI. I scuba dive as often as I can, anywhere I can. I have dove in ponds, lakes, rivers, springs, and of course the ocean. I have experienced cave diving, night diving, cavern diving, dry suits, wet suits cold water, warm water, clear water, and black water. I have dove with sharks, snakes, turtles, dolphins, sting rays, blue gills, fresh water eels and salt water eels. I have had great dives, good dives, dangerous dives, bad dives, and even experienced one person dying on a dive. My two favorite people to dive with are my daughter Katherine and my son Zachary. The time and money I have invested diving with them is priceless.

To me, diving is a spiritual experience. I feel closer to God underwater than most anywhere else. His creation is spectacular above the water, but there is nothing quite like the beauty and majesty and grace and creativity of what swims in the oceans and rivers and lakes of this world.

And God said, “Let the water teem with living creatures…21 So God created the great creatures of the sea and every living thing with which the water teems and that moves about in it…And God saw that it was good. 22 God blessed them and said, “Be fruitful and increase in number and fill the water in the seas…” 23 And there was evening, and there was morning —the fifth day” (Genesis 1:20-23).

Recently I had the privilege of diving in both the Grand Caymans and Cozumel, Mexico. In Grand Cayman I dove Eagles Nest Reef and Peter’s Reef. I dove with Don Foster’s Dive Cayman. In Cozumel, I made two drift dives; One was along a wall call San Francisco Reef/Wall, the other was along Paradise Reef. In Cozumel, I dove with Sand Dollar Sports. If you google the names of the reefs you will find youtube videos of dives on those reefs.

The pictures on this blog are from the four particular reefs I named above. I did not take the pictures, but they accurately depict what I saw on my most recent dives. I also have lots of pictures of different dives I have made on my facebook page. The pictures on facebook, I did take. I am not a professional photographer.

3 thoughts on “The Fifth Day of Creation

  1. Kevin,
    I love this post. I totally agree about diving being a spiritual experience. Just seeing a part of God’s creation that most people never see or can imagine the beauty of it, it just makes for a real personal experience. Thanks for sharing!

    Eric

    PS – I know of at least one manatee that you have dove with as well!

Leave a Reply

