Jobs for Life Graduation

Dr. John Perkins has said, “The best welfare system is a job.” I could not agree more. We were created and designed to work (see Genesis 2:15). When people do not have a job they feel a sense of helplessness and desperation. Work (any and all work) gives a person dignity.

For a few years now I have been walking with people who are unemployed. It has been a difficult journey. My heart breaks for the unemployed. I have been praying about how to help people get jobs. The answer to my prayers has been found in a national, biblically based, program called Jobs for Life (click here to go to their webpage and please watch their 2 minute video called “Flip the List”). Today, Sunday, April 29th, our church celebrated our first graduating class. We incorporated graduation into our worship service and then enjoyed a fellowship lunch together.

I can’t tell you how proud I am of our church. We have caught the vision of community development and multi-ethnic worship. It is absolutely amazing to see what God is doing! Words can’t describe what a joy it was to see 8 people filled with hope, confidence, and optimism about their future. Some of them already have jobs. Others have had interviews and are waiting for call-backs. We are committed to walk with them no matter how long it takes.

I have attached two pictures of our graduation to this post. There are many more on my facebook page. Our next Jobs for Life class starts Saturday, September 22nd.

Thank You God, for answering my prayers.

Leave a Reply

