Random Thoughts on a Rainy Saturday

This morning, I got up and went into my office at home to work on some things for Sunday’s service. It’s raining outside and I am drinking coffee, listening to classic rock. Right now, here is what is running through my mind. Nothing profound, but full of real life stuff:

  • I am glad no one voted for the option, “quit writing all together” on my recent poll.
  • UT and Georgia don’t tip off until this evening, but Vandy and Florida tip off at noon. Should be a good game.
  • Tomorrow is the Super Bowl. The last time the Giants and Patriots played in the Super Bowl, I watched the game with my Uncle Steve in France. Kick off was after midnight and we stayed up all night watching. Great memories.
  • For the cost of a 30 second commercial during this year’s Super Bowl, I could construct our church’s first phase building. There is something wrong with that.
  • For some reason, I don’t have very many international students in my classes this semester.
  • I need to go scuba diving.
  • As a church, we have got to figure out a way to move people from welfare to work. “The most effective welfare plan is a job” (Dr. John Perkins).
  • John Wesley once commented that there was a “hair’s width difference” between his theology and the theology of John Calvin. I think the same thing could be said about Democrats and Republicans.
  • If Ron Paul had a good foreign policy, I think I could vote for him.
  • Last night, Misty said I need to quit blogging and work on my next book. I think she is right, but I can’t quit blogging.
  • I am more in love with my wife now then when we first met.
  • I am thankful for my two kids. They are not kids anymore. Kat will be 21 this summer and Zach will be 17 in a few weeks.
  • I absolutely love my church and what we are trying to do for the kingdom.
  • I think I am going to try and follow the Memphis Grizzlies this year.
  • I hope by the end of the year our church has a multi-ethnic choir that sings negro-spirituals.
  • I need another cup of coffee…
Leave a Reply

