A Prophet

For some, as of yet, unknown reason, I feel led to spend time reading and studying the Old Testament prophet, Amos. I have been around long enough to know that when I feel an inner pull on my heart to read (and reread) and immerse myself into a particular part of Scripture that God is preparing me for something. But right now I don’t know what that is. I have read Amos through a few times already, and even though it is an obscure book, it seems to be extremely relevant to our times. I am open to any insight any of you have about this book.

What’s on my mind this morning is Amos 3:7, “Surely the Sovereign Lord does nothing without revealing his plan to his servants the prophets.”

What do you think that means?

Who are God’s prophets today and what are they revealing about God’s plans?

Are we listening to God’s prophets, or do we make fun of them and ridicule them, just like they did in the Old Testament?

Is Pat Robertson a prophet? What about Tim Tebow? What about Steven Colbert? What about your pastor?

Is Amos 3:7 an absolute promise or something that only related to the time of Amos?

(Note: The picture is of a Russian Orthodox icon of the Prophet Amos from the 18th century.)

7 thoughts on “A Prophet

  1. Dear REVKEV43, Amos is the prophet of justice. He asks us to come back to the Ten Commandments and become more faithful to God. Perhaps you feel that our society is falling away, morally, from the Biblical teachings of the Ten Commandments? You would not be alone in this feeling.

    I have to admit I laughed when I read your query regarding Steven Colbert as a prophet. Though funny, there might be some truth in Steven.

    Clearly, you have an inner dialogue and a blog. You asked what do I think it means that God revelas His plan to his servants. You already have the answer, because your inner dialogue is God’s revelation. I also believe that your blog allows you to be a prophet today.

    Prophets all write about how good or bad the future will be and what must be done today to secure a future that is a happy one for the people of God. I believe that inner pull you feel is a door opened by God for you to express the future through the revelation of your inner dialogue. If Steven Colbert is your muse then go with that. Be a prophet in your own right.

    God bless,

  2. Don’t FWB’s believe/teach that prophets went out with the Apostles? Not trying to trip you up, just asking a legit question. Or is prophet just another name for preacher – and if the latter is the case, then what are Preachers and evangelists if not different than a prophet, yet Paul differentiated them in the New Testament?

    as for Tebow and the rest, they are telling us to stand firm on our faith and not be ashamed of the lord in these last days where we will be (and are being) ridiculed for our biblical beliefs. It will begin with being made fun of, but it will end in persecution. Let’s hope the Pre-Mil/Pre-tribs are correct

  3. I believe the entirety of the Word of God is for our benefit and practice – Genesis to Revelation. With the understanding that grace fulfills the law and its penalties.

  4. Kevin, I think I would fall where you say most FWB fall. I think the work of the Holy Spirit today is illumination and application. As He leads us to understand and make current day application of the truths and principles of God’s revelation we do the work of prophecy by speaking the Word of God and its consequences for the present and future.

Leave a Reply

