My 2 Cents on Tim Tebow

Tim Tebow is now 7 & 1 as the starting quarterback for the Denver Broncos. Since he has been the starter hardly a day goes by where he is not making news for his outspoken faith. My facebook is filled with links to stories and opinions about him and the role of faith in sports. So, since everyone else is weighing in, I thought I would give my 2 cents worth. Are you ready? I know you have been wondering what I thought.  It’s groundbreaking. Here is my 2 cents worth on the entire Tim Tebow phenomenon:

“So whether you eat or drink (or play QB in the NFL, or are stuck at a dead-end, mundane job) or whatever you do, do it all for the glory of God…Follow my example, as I follow the example of Christ” (1 Corinthians 10:31 & 11:1).

“Lord, I pray I will be as passionate and committed at what You have me do today, as Tim Tebow is at what You have called him to do. I pray that all I do for You today will bring You honor and glory.  Thank You for the example of Tim Tebow. In Jesus’ name I pray, Amen.”

2 thoughts on “My 2 Cents on Tim Tebow

  1. Many people find it hard to accept that God has any interest in the outcome of something as trivial as a football game. In fact, He does – if the football game brings glory to His name. Tebow has glorified God’s name through the vehicle of football. He has used his talents, hard work, and opportunities to gain an audience for God on the field and in the media. Isn’t that waht we are called to do as children of God?
    Why can we not accept God giving Tebow success on the football field when we all pray for success in our families, jobs, churches, etc.?
    One last thing. I do not know Tim’s mind or heart, but I would suspect he is not concerned about God saying to him when he dies: “you should have toned down the God and Christ talk a little.” Instead he wants to hear: “well done, good and faithful servent”.

Leave a Reply

