Christmas Memory

Ok, here is a light-hearted, feel-good, holiday blog:

The last couple of weeks have been hectic on a number of different levels, but I now see light at the end of the tunnel. After several meetings and wrapping up another semester of school, I am now starting to get in the Christmas Spirit. Our Advent theme at church this year has been “Restore Us, O God,” and my prayer has been for God to restore my soul, drawing me closer to Him. I think, in fact, I know, He is doing just that.

So, here is the question for today: What is your favorite Christmas memory? The memory could be “spiritual” or “secular”, but what is it? Is it from childhood, or as a parent? It is funny? Moving? Inspirational? What is your favorite memory?

Or, another question: What is your favorite Christmas song or hymn? Again, either spiritual or secular.

Please share.

My favorite memory comes from high-school. Early one Christmas morning I got up before anyone else and took a study Bible and starting reading through the Old Testament prophecies about the coming Messiah. This was the first time I had ever done anything like that before, and that morning, while everyone else was asleep, the meaning of Christmas became real to me.

Another favorite memory is when we lived in Arkansas, and drove back from Tennessee to Arkansas on Christmas Eve in the snow and ice! It wasn’t a lot of fun, but it was very eventful.

I like the hymns, “What Child is This?” and “Go Tell It On the Mountain.”

I also like, “Grandma Got Run Over by a Reindeer.”

Finally, Christmas is not complete until I have watched “Christmas Vacation” and “A Christmas Story.”

What about you? What are some of your favorite memories?

4 thoughts on “Christmas Memory

  1. favorite song: o holy night

    favorite movie(s): it’s a wonderful life, miracle on 34th street, holiday inn, white christmas, polar express, christmas is connecticut…..i can keep going….christmas is my FAVORITE!!!!

    favorite memory: listening as thomas reads the christmas story is at the top of my list!!!!

  2. When I was 4 or 5 it snowed so much in Ada,OK that Santa couldn’t get to the end of our street.Mother and Loyd my oldest brother had to go get the doll house Snata left at a neighbors for me. Some of my favorite memories are the beautiful Christmas candle light services At Calvary Chapel,coming home to have a snack of smmer sausage cheese and crackers,then watching the kids open their gifts at midnight. I love all Christmas music,espicially carols about Christ.

Leave a Reply

