Intitial Thoughts

One of my favorite Mother Teresa quotes goes something like this: “If you want to know where Jesus is, go to the poor, and there you will find Him in the middle.”

I have spent the weekend with Jesus, and I will never be the same.

This was my 7th trip to Honduras, so I have been with the poor before. But this time was different. This time I had the opportunity to be with the pastors who live and minister in some of the poorest communities in the world. These pastors, both men and women, are my heroes. They serve without recognition, many times without compensation, and more often than not, without any formal training. The only thing they have to rely on is Jesus Christ and the power and presence of the Holy Spirit.

I envy them and want to be more like them.

To be in the presence of 100 Honduran pastors, and their spouses and workers, worshiping with them, is to be in the presence of God.

This morning I leave Honduras to return to the States. It will take me awhile to process the events of yesterday and the entire weekend. Right now I am overwhelmed. I feel like I did after my first trip to Honduras in 2005. I have got to figure out what to do with what I have seen. I am humbled that God allowed me to be a part of it. I am amazed by the commitment of so many pastors serving is such difficult places. In the words of the writer of Hebrews, “The world is not worthy of them.” I am grateful to my friends at WGO and their commitment to God and the people of Honduras. I am blessed that my friend, Hewitt Sawyers, agreed to come with me. I pray for him and his church. I am thankful for my church family at FCC, for not only allowing me to come and minister in Honduras, but seeing what I do as an extension of our church’s ministry.

Finally, I am most thankful for my wife, Misty, for always encouraging me and always standing behind me.

These are my first reactions and my initial thoughts about my trip. Thank you for praying for me. My plan is to process things through this blog. I hope you come along for the journey.

(This post has not been edited. Please ignore any errors.)

3 thoughts on “Intitial Thoughts

  1. Kevin,
    This post takes me back to the feelings I had on my first trip to Honduras. It is amazing how much God has richly blessed the people there, though looking at them from our worldly perspective they have nothing. I’m so looking forward to hearing more! Be safe on your trip home.

Leave a Reply

