Pastors’ Conference

On Saturday, November 19th, at 6am, I will be boarding a plane for my 7th trip to Tegucigalpa, Honduras in 5 years. But this trip is different:

First, it will be a fast trip. I return on Tuesday, November 22nd.

Second, the purpose of this trip is not to minister to the people of Tegucigalpa (Teguc) but to minister to the pastors of the churches in Teguc. I have been given the honor and privilege to pour my heart into some of the greatest men in the world! These men (and their wives) minister in some of the roughest places in the world among some of the poorest people on the planet. They are my heroes. I am not going there to teach them anything. If anything, they can teach me a thing or two. I am going there to love on them and to encourage them to pursue moral leadership.

(I began writing, speaking, and teaching about moral leadership while I was working on my doctorate years ago. In fact, “Moral Leadership” was the title of my dissertation. And if I can brag just a little, my dissertation earned the Oxford Grail Award for Distinction and Quality in Academic Research. Right now I am working on 2 separate books. One of them is about moral leadership. The working title is Leadership in 3-D. The timing of this trip, for me, could not have been better.)

Basically, moral leadership is relationship centered leadership that focuses on discipline, integrity, and honor. Discipline is my relationship with myself (inward). Integrity is my relationship with others (outward). Honor is my relationship with absolute values and principles (upward; these absolutes come from God, see Romans 1:20).

The conference is all day Monday, November 21st. There should be about 50-60 pastors and their wives attending.

In addition to the conference, I will be speaking at a church on Sunday morning and possibly another church on Sunday evening.. A few years ago our missionary team from my church partnered with the Sunday morning church for a 2 day medical/evangelism brigade. I am really looking forward to reconnecting with this church and their pastor. (The pictures in this blog are of the church and the pastor and his family.)

Third, this trip is different because my good friend and fellow pastor, Rev. Hewitt Sawyers (West Harpeth Primitive Baptist Church) is going with me. It will be his first time to Honduras. I am excited to see what God is going to do.

 I am asking everyone I can to pray for me while I am gone. Specifically, here is what you can pray:

  1. Safety in travel.
  2. Good health.
  3. Smooth connections in Houston’s airport. (On the way down, we do not have a long layover, so pray our flight leaves Nashville on time and arrives in Houston on time and our luggage makes the connection as well.)
  4. Pray I will be able to share my heart with the church on Sunday and the pastors on Monday. This is the most important prayer request to me. I very much want to come across as one of them and not as some “know-it-all” expert from the U.S. I want them to know how much I love and admire what they do and I want to communicate how important their ministries are. I want to serve them, not the other way around. Pray I can connect with them.
  5. Pray for the Holy Spirit to show up in a powerful, tangible, way. I am looking for the supernatural to happen. I want Sunday and Monday to be transformational for me, Pastor Hewitt, the mission staff at World Gospel Outreach, and the pastors and their families.
  6. Pray that when I get on the plane Tuesday, I will know I gave my all to God and He used it to bring glory to Himself.

Thank you in advance for your prayers. I am sure I will blog about it and post pictures on facebook when I return.

One thought on “Pastors’ Conference

Leave a Reply

