Tough Questions

“When wealth is lost, nothing is lost. When health is lost, something is lost. When character is lost, everything is lost” (Billy Graham).

 The word for today is integrity. Dwight D. Eisenhower said, “The supreme quality for leadership is unquestionably integrity. Without it no real success is possible no matter whether it is on a section gang, a football field, in an army, or in an office.”

 The Apostle Paul said, “(A leader) must also have a good reputation…so that he will not fall into disgrace” (1 Timothy 3:7).

 Two recent events have reminded me of the importance of integrity in my own life: The sexual harassment allegations toward Herman Cain; and the child sexual abuse case at Penn State and Coach Joe Paterno. I am not sure we will ever know the complete truth about Herman Cain, but the truth surrounding Penn State is very troubling.  Both of Herman Cain’s and Joe Paterno’s integrity have been called into question.

 I don’t know either of those gentleman. I can sit back and judge and condemn and defend, but ultimately it will do them, or myself, any good. What I can do is take this opportunity to look at my own life and ask myself the tough questions:

 Am I a person of integrity?

 If someone brought false charges against me, could I defend myself? Would my integrity stand up under scrutiny?

 If the charges brought against me were true, what would happen to my career?

 Are there sins I need to confess?

 Have a tried to cover up wrongs?

 If people really knew me, would they still respect me?

 Have I cut corners in my life?

 Have I chosen expediency over integrity?

 Those are tough questions, but they are the ones I am asking myself today.

What about you?

Leave a Reply

