I Just Can’t Do It

I just can’t do it.

Over the next two weeks I expect there to be a lot of news reports, specials, and documentaries for the 10th anniversary of the 9/11 attack. I just don’t think I can watch them. The events of that day are still to real and raw to me. I remember exactly what I was doing when I saw the second plan fly into that building. I can tell you everything I did that day. For me, remembering that day is just as horrible as living through that day. Each year, around 9/11, I try to watch something about it, but I just can’t.

I thought this year might be different.

But last night I watched most of National Geographic’s interview with Pres. Bush, and I just don’t think I can watch any more reports. Don’t get me wrong. I want to watch them, and I will never forget; it’s simply to painful. To make matters worse, I am starting a series of messages on Job on Sunday, September 11th, and I plan on using the attacks as an illustration. But I don’t want to.

What about you? What are your thoughts and feelings as we creep toward the 10th anniversary of 9/11?

2 thoughts on “I Just Can’t Do It

  1. Jim and I watched the NG interview with President Bush last night, too. It brought back lots of painful memories, but I think it was therapeutic for me. It has been long enough that I’ve adjusted and can watch it, whether that’s good or bad. Time does heal wounds but only if we process and internalize them. I have lost people very close to me and some under very tragic circumstances. It hurts a lot, but only by allowing ourselves to fully experience that hurt can we recover from it.

Leave a Reply

