My Citizenship

“But our citizenship is in heaven…

I was on a mission trip in Tegucigalpa, Honduras during the summer of 2009 when the military powers and governmental authorities raided the presidential palace and removed their country’s president, Manuel Zelaya, by force. (Here is a link to an article about that event.) From where our team was staying we could see the military helicopters keeping watch from above and the protesters burning tires below. To be in a foreign country during a time of political upheaval was interesting to say the least. I remember thinking to myself, “I am really glad I don’t live here and have to put up with all this unrest and insecurity.” As events unfolded before our eyes, I was very thankful my citizenship was in another country.

I am still thankful my citizenship belongs somewhere else.

I follow politics, and at times I get emotionally attached to what is taking place in Washington, and even in my own small town. During those times I have to stop and remind myself, “I am glad I am just visiting this place and don’t have to worry about all this unrest and insecurity. I am glad my citizenship isn’t here.”

Don’t get me wrong. I love the United States and I am concerned with the direction I see the country moving, but I am not worried or afraid, and I don’t think another political figure from another party will really change things. I am learning to watch all the chaos here like I watched the chaos in Tegucigalpa; it’s interesting, but I am ready to go home. My hope is not in the White House, my retirement is not on Wall Street, and a tea party is not going to satisfy my thirst.

…and we eagerly await a Savior from there, the Lord Jesus Christ” (Philippians 3:20)

Leave a Reply

