An Incredible Opportunity

As most of you know, last year I had a book published. The title of the book was Failing Like Jesus. Also, if you know me, then you know that every summer I lead a mission trip to Tegucigalpa, Honduras. Well, those two things have come together, creating a great opportunity.

Last summer I took several copies of my book to Honduras and gave them to all the American missionaries who work for World Gospel Outreach (WGO), the ministry we partner with each year. (Check out their website, http://www.wgoreach.org.) This summer, while in Honduras, several of those missionaries encouraged me with their words about the book and how it had spoken to them and how they had used parts of my book in team devotions all year. I was honored, humbled, and encouraged. One of the missionaries stated that he wished WGO could give a copy of the book to every team member who travels to Honduras for short-term missionary work during the course of a year. Over a 12-month period, a little more than 900 people come from the States to Honduras to work with WGO. The expense of providing several hundred copies of the book is more than the ministry can handle.

Upon returning from Honduras this summer, I contacted my publisher (Randall House Publications, http://www.randallhouse.com) and asked them what could be done to provide WGO with 1,000 copies of my book to give as a “thank-you” to every team member in 2012. I told Randall House that I would be willing to forgo my royalties on these books if they could print them at cost. Randall House agreed, and said if I would purchase a minimum of 1,000 copies, they could print them for $4.50 each! That’s an incredible price!

This is where you come in.

I need your help in raising $4,500.00 so I can purchase 1,000 copies of Failing Like Jesus, to provide to WGO so they can give a copy to each team member who travels to Honduras during 2012. I will not make 1 dime on these books, and neither will the publisher. This is a gift of love to those who sacrifice their time and money to spend a week ministering to the poor in Honduras.

Will you help me?

A gift of $90 would purchase 20 books. If 50 people gave $90, than 1,000 books could be purchased and shipped to Honduras. (By the way, the shipping is free!) If $90 is too much, $45 would purchase 10 books; and even if that is too much, $4.50 would purchase 1 book. Whatever you can give will help, and every dollar will go to purchase books.

My goal is to raise the $4,500.00 by the end of October so I can get the books printed and shipped to Honduras by January 1, 2012 (preferably, before Christmas). If you would like to help, make your check out to Franklin Community Church, and mail your tax-deductible gift to:

 

Franklin Community Church

200 Devrow Court

Franklin, TN 37064

 

Thank you in advance for what you are going to do. And a big thank you to Randall House Publications.

To God be the glory.

Kevin Riggs

P.S. Feel free to reply to this blog and let me know how you can help.

2 thoughts on “An Incredible Opportunity

  1. Kevin, I read your book and loved every word. David and I are sending a check for five books. I know it is small, but I hope it will help you reach your goal!
    ~Laura Binz, Arkansas

Leave a Reply

