It’s Finally Raining

It’s finally raining in Middle Tennessee.

The last few weeks have been hot and dry. Not as hot and dry as other parts of the country, but hot and dry nonetheless. The rain smells good and cooled things off considerably; at least for a while. My prayers are with Texas, Oklahoma, Arkansas, and other places there are in a severe drought. My prayers are with Africa, especially the horn of Africa, which has been in a drought for decades. Jesus said, “(God) causes his sun to rise on the eviland the good, and sends rain on the righteous and th unrighteous” (Matthew 5:45). I don’t know why it is that some places get more rain then they need, causing floods, while other places don’t receive any rain. But I do know that God is still sovereign.

It rained today in Middle Tennessee. I went outside during the rain to take something to my vehicle. As I walked across the yard, my feet squashed and my sandles got soaked. It felt good, and I could sense the grass and dirt smiling, saying, “Aaahhh, what a relief.” It’s amazing how good a little water can do.

The Psalmist wrote, “As the deer pants for streams of water, so my soul pants for you, O God. My soul thirsts for God, for the living God” (Psalm 42:1-2a). Today, as it rained, and as I thought about how happy my lawn must be, I thought of that Psalm. So today, I am asking myself if I am longing for God the way a deer pants for water or the ground cries for rain?

As I think about my own longing for God, I am also praying for my friends who still need rain.

One thought on “It’s Finally Raining

Leave a Reply

