A Change in Focus (Part One)

I recently started reading a book titled, God is Red: A Native View of Religion, by Vine Deloria Jr. The book is considered a classic in explaining Native American life in the United States. I am less than 100 pages into the book and so far it has not been what I was expecting. The author is highly critical of Christianity, but instead of rejecting the book, I have decided to plow through and see what I can learn. Below is a quote from the book that I have been thinking on for a few days now:

 “Christianity has been singularly involved in proclaiming the ‘good news’ that involves the articulation of an impossibly complex scenario involving original sin, a cosmic redeemer, the catastrophic end of the planet, and the transportation of the ‘saved’ to a new heaven where presumably people will behave much better than they did on the old earth. Preaching and teaching have, as their goal, the possibility of changing individual personality and behavior, presumably in a manner more pleasing to the deity. A glance at the historical record will show that the hope of transformation is rarely realized and never seen on a large scale.”

 What do you think about this quote? Is the writer correct?

Notice I have titled this blog entry, “Part One.” I do have a response to this, but before I give mine, I would like to hear yours.

One thought on “A Change in Focus (Part One)

  1. I’ve seen this kind of remark before from non-believing people, and they have a good point. Lately, I’ve become a little more aware of the account in Matthew when Herod comes to the experts and asks when the Christ will come. The experts tell him and he acts, but the experts do not; they miss the event they had known about for centuries. I’m starting to see this in the believing realm – the experts, that is to say modern Christians – are missing Christ and the world is noticing it. We (believers) have a form of Godliness but are denying it its power.

Leave a Reply

